Day[11] Out of One, Many

I arrived this morning, grabbed a cup of coffee, and watched Drew and Jack battle it out playing Smash Brothers on Nintendo Switch.

These two are interesting and they have basically the same story. They’re nineteen years old, went to college, found it to be a waste of time, and enrolled in Tech Elevator. Jack writes code as easily as writing memorized nursery rhymes and Drew routinely falls asleep during the lectures only to rise from the dead to answer a complex question that invaded his dreams.

They’re easily the two best in the class. They are often giggling over video games while I still have hours to go on my exercises. This might sound annoying, but it’s not. Each of them is willing to help out and, more impressively, each of them remains grounded and humble. These two would have hated nineteen-year-old Sean. And with good reason.

Today, Tom covered Polymorphism, a concept where a programmer writes one line of code that can be used in several different ways depending on the subject on which it is enacted. It sounds more complicated than it is.

Again, I was paired with New York Will. We worked through our bit and then split off to do the individual exercises that we were also assigned.

I did really well on the individual stuff. It was difficult and there was a lot of it, but when 5:30 rolled around, I was finishing up. As we get deeper into Object Oriented Programming and farther away from straight logic questions, I feel my skills solidifying. I felt proud to be walking out of there at 5:45 with all my work finished for the next day.

Of course, Drew and Jack had been playing video games for hours at this point.

Leave a comment