Day[6] Marathon Man

Another long one. Maybe every day is a long one from here on out.

This morning was rough. I had eleven problems that I needed to finish before tomorrow morning. I was planning to knock at least eight out before class started. I arrived at 7:00 am and only finished three before class started at 9:00.

Frustrated over this, I missed several questions on the quiz that I shouldn’t have.

I understood the lesson pretty well, but when it came time for the exercises, I had to change my strategy. I was determined not to fall further behind. With the pace of the class, falling behind two days is basically a death sentence.

For the time-being, the .Net group splits up into two groups during exercises. The group that gets almost all of the questions without aid and the group that needs some help but gets many on their own stay in the class room, occasionally leaving to beg a hint off of Tom. The students that need a bit more help make their work-space in the main room where Tom sets up shop. Until today, I had stayed in the classroom.

We were given twelve questions with today’s exercise. So, with what I hadn’t finished from the day before, I had eight still remaining. For those of you keeping score, that’s twenty complex logic brain-busters. I was starting to feel like I was drowning.

I asked for help on two of the first four questions from today’s exercises. I picked up a few bits that I had been erring on over and over. Then, in about an hour, I ran through five questions without help, finishing nine of the twelve assigned.

Pleased with that progress, I decided to go back to the exercises from the day before and knock out what I could. I got some help from Tom and from some of the other students, but as I stand right now, I have three problems that I still have to do for 9:00 am tomorrow, and three that are due on Wednesday. Life is way more manageable than it was at six hours ago.

Leave a comment